Elizabethan Sonnet Cycles

Cover of book Elizabethan Sonnet Cycles
Categories: Fiction » Classic

Phillis and Licia are two of the best sonnet cycles of their time. Thomas Lodge (1558 - 1625) was an English dramatist and writer from the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods. In 1591 Lodge made a voyage


with Thomas Cavendish to Brazil and the Straits of Magellan, returning home by 1593. During this voyage Lodge began writing to help pass the boredom of a long sea journey. Phillis is one of the first attempts in linking several sonnets together into a sonnet-cycle. Giles Fletcher was a Member of Parliament and spent time in Russia. In 1588 he was instrumental in forming the treaty with tsar Feodor I of Russia. Fletcher wrote Licia in 1591.

Elizabethan Sonnet Cycles
+Write review

User Reviews:

Write Review: