The Seven Plays in English Verse

Cover of book The Seven Plays in English Verse
Categories: Fiction » Classic

The book contains seven (of 123 written during the course of the author’s life) survived plays written by Sophocles, one of the three ancient Greek tragedians. These are Ajax, Antigone, Trachinian Wom


en, Oedipus the King, Electra, Philoctetes and Oedipus at Colonus. The interest of a Sophoclean drama is always intensely personal, and is almost always centered in an individual destiny. In other words, it is not historical or mythical, but ethical. Single persons stand out magnificently in Aeschylus. But the action is always larger than any single life. Each tragedy or trilogy resembles the fragment of a sublime Epic poem. Mighty issues revolve about the scene, whether this is laid on Earth or amongst the Gods, issues far transcending the fate of Orestes or even of Prometheus.

The Seven Plays in English Verse
+Write review

User Reviews:

Write Review: